Montana School Counselor Association Awards

The Montana School Counselor of the Year Award honors the best of the best - counselors who are running a top-notch, comprehensive school counseling program at either the elementary, middle, or high school level.

Nominations for the Montana School Counselor of the Year should include supplemental documents demonstrating:
  • Evidence of use of the American School Counselor Association National Model to develop a comprehensive program
  • Evidence of characteristics or qualities demonstrating leadership
  • Evidence of innovation and originality within school counseling program
  • Evidence contributing to student achievement and enhancement

Congratulations to the 2018 Montana School Counselor of the Year, Carolyn Yegen of McKinley School in Billings!

The Montana Advocate of the Year Award recognizes individuals who contribute to the implementation and improvement of school counseling programs. These individuals demonstrate their belief in and support of school counseling programs that impact school counselors and their students at the local, state, and/or national level.

Congratulations to the 2018 Montana Advocates of the Year, Frenchtown Administration Team: Riley Devins, Aaron Griffin, Jake Haynes, and Mark McMurray!
If you have any questions regarding this process please contact Lee Starck, Elementary Vice President of the Montana School Counselor Association at